Kolawole re-elected kogi speaker


The erstwhile Speaker of the kogi state 6 th House of Assembly Rt. Hon. Matthew Kolawole has emerged as the new Speaker of the Assembly.

Matthew Kolawole, Kabba Bunu state constituency was  the sole candidate for the speaker  position  who was nominated by Hassan Abdullahi Bello, Ajaokuta and Seconded by Alfa Momoh Rabiu Ankpa 11 state constituency respecively.

The speaker who is the first to win back to back to the  House of Assembly election from Kabba Bunu constituency was elected as a speaker midway into the sixth Assembly after Hon. Umar Umam resigned his speakership.

Other principal officers elected Thursday after the governor Alhaji Yahaya Bello had proclaimed the 7th Assembly opened for the next four years include Ahmed Mohammed Ankpa 1 as Deputy Speaker while Bello Abdullahi Hassan retained his Majority leader position., others are Deputy Majority leader, Chief whip and Deputy chief whip,  Ndako Idris, Muktar Baje and Moses Ododo Idoko respectively.

In his acceptance speech, the Speaker, Prince Mathew Kolawole commended the people of his  constituency for considering him worthy to be returned for the second term promised to improve on his previous performances.

He equally thanked the governor Alhaji Yahaya Bello for creating mutual relationship between the House and the  Executive arms  and members of the past Assembly for their commitment to the cause that made  him to succeed. 

He urged the members to dedicate their energies to the service of their fatherland and shun acts that will bring disrepute to the House appealed for cooperation with the Executive arm of the government.

The 7th Assembly consist of 25 members even as all of them were elected on the platform of the All Progressive Congress ( APC)

Spread the love

Related posts

Leave a Comment